OPEN EVENINGS | Y9 ENTRY – 19 September 2024 | SIXTH FORM - 17 October 2024

Governance – Academy Advisory Committee Providing support and challenge


We, as Academy Committee Members, are volunteers from the community appointed by the Trust Board of Ambitions Academies Trust.  Our experience is drawn from all walks of life and we aim to provide grounded support and challenge.

We strive to ensure that the academy serves its community by providing education of the highest quality in a supportive atmosphere based on the academy vision.

We meet regularly throughout the school year to support and challenge the academy to ensure the highest standards of achievement and best possible outcomes for all our pupils. Working together with the academy, we set and monitor development priorities and we act as critical friends to the principal and other staff.

The committee compromises of a maximum of 8 members in total.  There are five positions for general volunteer members, two positions for parent members and one position for a staff member.

The Committee has a Link Trustee allocated to them ensuring communication and accountability is fed back to the Trustees directly as set out in the AAT Scheme of Delegation.

Further information regarding the Scheme of Delegation, Trust Strategic Plan and Governance Model can be found on the Ambitions Academies Trust website or by clicking here.


The current committee membership is set out below:

Chair and Committee Member Shirley Thompson
Committee Member Elizabeth Evesham
Committee Member Ted Taylor
Committee Member Susan Holloway
Committee Member Vacancy
Parent Committee Member Lucy Chewins
Parent Committee Member Lianne Chorley
Staff Committee Member Tim Clark
Link Trustee Vacancy


All members of the committee are contactable through the academy office.

Record of meetings:

Governance Information – AAC – LS

Academy Committee Meeting Record 2022 – 2023

If you are interested in becoming a volunteer committee member for this academy or for one of our other academies in the trust, please do contact us.